Jesus Is King is the ninth studio album by American rapper Kanye West, released on October 25, 2019, through GOOD Music and Def Jam Recordings.

Album Review: Jesus Is King By Kanye West

 Jesus Is King – This album did not catch me by surprise judging by the Sunday Services Kanye West has held since January 2019 however, due to curiosity, I had to listen to it and to my own amusement I loved it.

In the past, I have not given any time to listen to Kanye’s music however this particular album had me anxious just to find out if it defines its title “Jesus is King.”

On the hunt for curse words to immediately fulfill my assumption that Kanye is tainting the name of the Lord, he surprised me with no trace of them glorifying Our Lord Jesus Christ in every song.

Jesus is King was slated to have been released on 27th September as tweeted by Kanye’s wife Kim Kardashian West however, fans waited in vain. On 25th October, the album was released following a tweet sent out by Kanye thanking his fans for their loyalty and patience. He claimed the delay was due to fixes on the songs Everything We Need, Follow God and Water.

The album has multiple collaborators such as Ty Dolla Sign, Pusha-T, Kenny G however, Sunday Service Choir led by Jason White that are famous for the Sunday Service Experience alongside Kanye stand out on my part.

I believe most Christians will listen to this album with a lot of skepticism concerning Kanye’s shenanigans in the past nevertheless the album is phenomenal.

The Jesus Is King album consists of 11 songs which are;

Jesus Is King is the ninth studio album by American rapper Kanye West, released on October 25, 2019, through GOOD Music and Def Jam Recordings. The album follows a Christian theme, with West describing it as “an expression of the gospel.”

West had formed his Sunday Service group in January 2019, performing gospel songs and covers of songs from his discography. Sunday Service performed the songs “Water” and “Everything We Need” live prior to release.

Jesus Is King album has multiple collaborators such as Ty Dolla Sign, Pusha-T and Kenny G.
Jesus Is King album by Kanye West. (Image credit:

1. Every Hour

2. Selah

3. Follow God

4. Closed on Sunday

5. On God

6. Everything We Need

7. Water

8. God Is

9. Hands On

10. Use This Gospel

11. Jesus Is Lord

My thoughts on Kanye West’s Jesus Is King Album

Kanye’s rap in every song is exalting and very personal to the scenarios in his past. Every musical beat was well produced and one cannot help but nod in enjoyment.

Some lines such as “Eve made apple juice” in the song Everything We Need and “Chick-fil-A” in Closed on Sunday are hard to comprehend in relation to the gospel essence of the album.

Nevertheless, it is inevitable not to notice his lyrical genius as he shows off his poetic side in every song.  Kanye does not disappoint carrying his exuberance in the album bringing more originality to it.

What a superb way to end October with a harmonically rich album elevating the Lord.


Other album reviews: Album Review: Lucid By ASA

Album Review: Jesus Is King By Kanye West 1

Author: Joy Aliba

Joy Aliba is a freelance writer for Newslibre. She majorly writes about the latest political issues in East Africa and coolest entertainment news across the world.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *