World Rugby reveals 2023 World Cup qualification process - Newslibre

World Rugby reveals 2023 World Cup qualification process

The 2022 edition of the Rugby Africa Cup will be determinant for which African country attains 2023 World Cup qualification according to the details released by World Rugby.

The 2023 World Cup will happen in France and the winner of the Rugby Africa Cup will qualify directly for the showpiece while the runners-up will take in the Final Qualification Round Robin games to determine who takes the 20th place up for grabs at the 2023 World Cup.

Twelve teams are already Qualified for the France showpiece owing to finishing as the top 12 teams in the recently concluded 2019 World Cup in Japan. These are World Champions South Africa, England, New Zealand, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, Australia, Japan, Argentina, Italy, Fiji, and France (Host). The eight places will be determined by the results of the 5 regional championships and the final round-robin arrangement.

World Rugby reveals 2023 World Cup qualification process - Newslibre
South Africa the defending Champions will earn automatic qualification to the biggest event in Rugby. (Scrum Magazine)

Namibia won the 2018 Rugby Gold Cup to qualify directly for the 2019 World Cup, with Kenya going to the final qualification tournament (repechage) where they fell to Canada (eventual winners and 20th team at RWC 2019), Germany and Hong Kong.

A relaxed Sir Bill Beaumont, Chairman of World Rugby argues that the Corona Virus pandemic is going to be defeated and this should start a beautiful process of the world enjoying rugby again.

“The success of Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan and performances by the host nation is a testimony of rugby’s expansion globally. As the fight against the Covid-19 pandemic is about to be won, I welcome this optimistic prospect of reconnecting with the excitement of our sport. This is the start of our journey towards France in 2023, which will be the best tournament ever delivered.”

The Americas will deliver two direct places, while Oceania will deliver a direct qualifier with a further direct place available following a play-off with Asia. The Europe Championship (two direct places).

World Rugby reveals 2023 World Cup qualification process - Newslibre
England and New Zealand will be coming back to revenge for their 2019 misfortunes in the rugby World Cup 2023. (Image Credit: The South African)

Further Qualification Details For Rugby World Cup 2023

Americas: the Americas will qualify two teams by September 2022. The third-best team in the region will enter the Final Qualification Tournament – Americas 1 and Americas 2

Europe: the existing Europe Championship will have two qualifying places, with the two best teams in March 2022 qualifying directly and the third-placed entering the Final Qualification Tournament – Europe 1 and Europe 2

Africa: the Africa Cup 2022 winner will qualify directly and the runner-up team will go to Final Qualification – Africa 1
Oceania: a home and away play-off between Tonga and Samoa in 2021 will determine the direct qualifier for the Oceania region. – Oceania 1
The loser will then play the Oceania Rugby Cup 2021 winner in the highest-ranked team’s country with the eventual winner contesting Asia / Pacific (see below) as Oceania 2

Asia / Pacific: the winner of the Asian Rugby Men’s Championship 2021 will play Oceania 2 home and away. The winner on aggregate will determine the qualifier and the loser will go to Final Qualification – Asia / Pacific 1

Final Qualification Tournament: the tournament in November 2022 will feature four teams playing in a round-robin format with the winner qualifying for RWC 2023 – Final Qualification, winner.

Also, read: New Zealand To Allow Fans Back Into Stadiums For All Sports After Declaring that They are COVID19 Free

World Rugby reveals 2023 World Cup qualification process 1

Author: Lewis Ssemujju

Lewis is a talkative, and budding writer with lots of bias to rugby and weirdly – SEO. He has a passion for philanthropy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *