Celtics Named Premier League Champions of Scotland - Newslibre

Celtics Named Premier League Champions of Scotland

Having suspended the league as a result of the spread of Coronavirus, the Scottish Football Association has come out to cancel the 2019/2020 season which sees the table leaders Celtics named the champions of the season.

Scotland joins countries like France, Netherlands that have decided to end their leagues while Germany had the Bundesliga returning yesterday.

Celtics  Crowned 2019/2020 Season Champions of Scotland

Rangers under Steven Gerard had been making huge strides when it comes to making grounds on rivals Celtics and will feel very undone by the decision to award Celtics the title.

With just 3 games left to play for and Rangers behind table leaders by an incredible 9 points, the decision to end the campaign comes as an easy decision.

Celtics Named Premier League Champions of Scotland - Newslibre
Celtics peeped their old time rivals Scotland to the title with only 3 games left to play for. (Image Credit: Sun )

Leading rivals Rangers by nine points with three games to play, Neil Lennon’s team needed a point at Pittodrie to be crowned champions and move within one title of the nine-in-a-row record, which both Glasgow rivals have achieved once.

This season saw Brendan Rodgers leave Celtic for Leicester City in February, with Lennon returning as interim manager to see out the campaign, having previously led the club between 2010 and 2014, winning three titles.

Many of the 12 clubs that constitute the Scottish Premier League had agreed on details concerning ending the league under the threat of Coronavirus.

The decision is will now allow the Premier to award the 7.5 million Pounds that was meant for the clubs and this will come in handy for some of the majority struggling clubs in the league.

Hearts will however suffer the biggest set back as they will be relegated from the top tier competition in Scotland with only 3 games that were left to be played for.

Also read: Formula 1 Loses $90M After Vettel Confirms Leaving Ferrari


Celtics Named Premier League Champions of Scotland 1

Author: Moses Echodu

Moses is an avid Sports and Tech enthusiast. He loves to keep up to date with all the latest information and research on some of the most compelling stories.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *