Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Announces Call for Nominations for AWIEF Awards 2021 - Newslibre

Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Announces Call for Nominations for AWIEF Awards 2021

The Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) opens the nominations for the 2021 annual AWIEF Awards.

Currently in its fifth edition, the prestigious AWIEF Awards recognize, honor, and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners in Africa and across various industry sectors for their  achievements and contribution to Africa’s inclusive economic growth and social development.

AWIEF Awards cover emerging and established entrepreneurship in the private and not-for-profit sectors. AWIEF Awards nominees are women who have demonstrated outstanding vision and inspiration and have overcome challenges to make a significant social impact and/or become successful in their businesses in line with AWIEF’s core areas of innovation, technology, entrepreneurship, leadership, and socio-economic development.

Daisy Mmabatho Molefhi, Founder and Vice Chancellor of ABM University College, the oldest private tertiary education institution in Bostwana, and last year’s winner in the category of Lifetime Achievement Award, had this to say, “It was a great honor to receive this award. I want to see many more women holding this trophy. It’s so significant to me, and I want to encourage women out there to enter or nominate someone so that Africa can recognize them.”

Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Announces Call for Nominations for AWIEF Awards 2021 - Newslibre
The 2021 AWIEF Awards will be held online due to the prevailing COVID19 restrictions on the continent of Africa. (Image Credit: AWP Network)

Irene Ochem, AWIEF Founder and Chief Executive Officer commented: “We have been amazed by the standard of entries over the years. This year we project entries from entrepreneurs who will be addressing some of humanities greatest concerns, especially in the current COVID-19 pandemic challenges. Each entrant is firmly grounded in the reality of the African landscape, presenting practical solutions to address relevant issues. We will continue to identify and bring these women to AWIEF to recognize and celebrate them for their passion and determination in making a difference in their countries and on the continent”.

Entries and nominations for the 2021 AWIEF Awards begin on 15 July 2021 and close on 23 August 2021. You can either nominate yourself or be nominated by someone else.

AWIEF to hold the Africa 2021 Awards Virtually

Winners of the 2021 AWIEF Awards will be announced and celebrated at the 7th Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF) Virtual Conference and Awards hosted on 2-3 December 2021, with the theme ‘Advancing inclusive, resilient and sustainable growth in the post-COVID-19 African economy’.

AWIEF’s prestigious annual event is a platform that sees global thought leaders, industry experts, policymakers, academics, development partners, investors, and the media gather to dialogue, connect, network, share, collaborate and transact in a combined effort to boost Africa’s entrepreneurship ecosystem for women.

The eight AWIEF Awards categories are:

  • Young Entrepreneur Award

This Award goes to a young female entrepreneur under the age of 35, who has demonstrated exceptional entrepreneurial spirit and skills to build and grow a successful business, and is an inspiration to other young entrepreneurs.

  • Tech Entrepreneur Award

This Award seeks to recognize a woman entrepreneur who has used science and technology to create an innovative business, offering new knowledge, service, product or solution.

  • Agri Entrepreneur Award

This Award goes to a woman who has achieved significant recognition and business success in the field of agriculture and agribusiness with great impact on food security in her community or country.

  • Creative Industry Award

This Award recognizes the disruptive and creative entrepreneurial excellence of a woman in the film, music, food, beauty, art, fashion, advertising, design, or crafts industry.

  • Empowerment Award

The Empowerment Award goes to a woman who has greatly contributed and invested in inspiring, mentoring and empowering other women entrepreneurs

  • Energy Entrepreneur Award

This Awards goes to a woman in the oil & gas and/or green energy & renewable sector who is operating a successful business with impact on energy access and/or availability in her community or country.

  • Social Entrepreneur Award

This Award goes to a woman who with her business has made significant social impacts in the community and has proffered solutions to social, cultural, technology, education, environment or financial challenges with her innovative product or service.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to an established woman entrepreneur for prolonged and consistent achievements in business. This individual is a role model who has displayed exceptional and outstanding business leadership over time. This Award also recognizes the significant contribution made to job creation and the economy.

To nominate yourself or someone you know, go to

You can click here to listen to the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Winner:

According to the Awards organizers,  the entries and nominations will close on 23 August 2021.

Also, read: Pipit Global Partners with Cellulant to Power Low-Cost Remittances in Africa

Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Announces Call for Nominations for AWIEF Awards 2021 1

Author: Moses Echodu

Moses is an avid Sports and Tech enthusiast. He loves to keep up to date with all the latest information and research on some of the most compelling stories.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *