Google Plus Shutting Down Soon - Newslibre

Google Plus Shutting Down Soon

Google recently informed users about the possible shut down of the social platform Google+ and made it official later in the year. However, recently an email was sent out to all users warning them to backup their content before the platform is completely shut down.

The email sent to users was informing them about the incoming shutdown of Google+ and also calling upon members to backup all their data in time. Instructions on how to do so were also availed in the communication.

Google+ also known as Google Plus or simply G+, was first launched in June, 2011 as an Internet-based social network met to challenge other social networks such as Facebook and Twitter. It had also been designed to link Google products like YouTube.

In June 2011, Google Inc. decided to open the social network to a select number of users by setting up an invitation-only system. However, the demand for accounts was so high that Google had to suspend invitations and left the power at the hands of old users to add new newcomers. Each user was given 150 invitations each to give away until September 2011, when the site was opened to everyone.

During its first two weeks of launch, the platform gained over 10 million users in invites and later shot up to 40 million users by October 2011 reaching 90 million at the end of the year according to a report by a site analysing its growth at the time.

However, 8 years down the road, the platform struggled to keep up with the tough competition from other social networks and now its facing its final moments.

The email sent to users regarding its shut down read as follows;

You’ve received this email because you have content in Google+ for your personal (consumer) account or a Google+ page you manage.

This is a reminder that on April 2, 2019 we’re shutting down consumer Google+ and will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.

Downloading your Google+ content may take time, so get started before March 31, 2019.

No other Google products (such as Gmail, Google Photos, Google Drive, YouTube) will be shut down as part of the consumer Google+ shutdown, and the Google Account you use to sign in to these services will remain. Note that photos and videos already backed up in Google Photos will not be deleted.

So, before March, 31 of this year all users have been advised to backup all their content before they loose everything. Other products won’t be affected according to Google.

Also read: The Samsung S10 Could Be The Best Phone This Year

Author: Allan Bangirana

Allan Bangirana has a taste for all kinds of topics and usually writes about tech, entertainment, sports and community projects that make a difference in society.

He writes for Newslibre and Spur Magazine. He is also the co-founder of the Innovware project and a freelance consultant passionate about technology and web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *