Deloitte launch the third edition of the Chief Finance Officer (CFO) Awards 2019

Uganda has very good financial officers and for long, their recognition has only been within their organizations and possibly mentions around the sector.

Two years ago, ACCA Uganda Deloitte started awards to celebrate Chief Finance Officers who have done an incredible job of upholding the sector but also leading by example and helping their companies and organizations transform in the financial aspects.

In 2017, the event saw six winners walk away with something while in 2018, there were 8 winners. This kind of success has given event organizers ACCA Uganda and Deloitte more motive to have another awarding ceremony this year.

Mabel Ndawula (Far left) from Deloitte sharing with the members of media during the press conference

This year, the awards are seven; CFO of the year, Young CFO Award, Strategy Execution Award, Finance Transformation Award, Public Sector Award, SME sector Award and Not for Profit sector Award.

CFO of the Year

The CFO of the Year will have shown financial leadership, outstanding performance over a number of years and is the driving force behind the growth and profitability of their organization, striving for excellence in all aspects of the finance profession. The CFO/ Head of Finance should lead by example demonstrating leadership through their future-focus and proficiency in the seven vital qualities of professional accountants.

Chief Finance Officers are allowed to nominate themselves as long as they meet the criteria

 Public Sector Award

This should be a CFO or Head of Finance in a government ministry, agency or department demonstrating outstanding financial management and has demonstrated the vital qualities of professional accountants.

Not-for-Profit Award

This award will go to an outstanding CFO or Head of Finance, currently making a vital contribution to the financial leadership of a not-for-profit organisation and has demonstrated the 7 vital qualities of professional accountants.

SME Award

This award will recognize a CFO or Head of Finance in a small and medium enterprise, who has demonstrated outstanding financial management and has contributed to the growth of the enterprise. Small and medium enterprises include all types of formal enterprises irrespective of their legal form (such as family enterprises, sole proprietorships or cooperatives), employing between 5 – 100 employees and total assets not exceeding UGX 360 million.

Young CFO Award 

This award will recognise a rising star in the accounting profession, aged no more than 35 years and has demonstrated the 7 vital qualities of professional accountants.

Finance Transformation

This award recognises a CFO or Head of Finance who has championed transformative solutions in their finance function and has been successful in redefining the role of finance within the organisation.

Strategy Execution Award

This award recognises a CFO or Head of Finance who has shown agility and resilience in dealing with serious and intense changes in the business environment, enabling the business to successfully adapt to new demands and challenges. This CFO or Head of Finance will have shown great leadership in creating the right (financial) conditions to execute the organisation’s strategy.

This will be the third that the Awards will be held in Uganda

The CFO Awards were started as a way of recognising the role that CFOs and finance functions play within organisations, highlighting the good business and finance practices while raising the profile of this strategic role.

They are part of the bigger CFO agenda which presents a platform to share best practice, drive awareness, inspire action and develop a community of finance leaders committed to creating more sustainable outcomes for their organisations.

Here is what makes it all even great. Nominations for the Awards are open to anyone who is in finance or is a Finance officer who meets the necessary criteria put out by ACCA Uganda and Deloitte. People are also allowed to nominate themselves as long as they feel that they meet the requirements.

The nomination is open today and will close on Friday, 13 September 2019. It’s done online via this Apply for the CFO Awards 2019

All winners shall have to demonstrate proficiency in the seven vital qualities of a professional accountant. Also referred to as the seven quotients in the ACCA report of Professional Accountants – The Future, or the seven skills for success in the ACCA competency framework, these quotients are intelligence, creativity, digital knowledge, emotional intelligence, experience, vision, technical and ethical skills.

Once the nominations have been closed, a panel of judges will be formed and they will shortlist the top contenders, hold an interview with each and every one of them to assess their eligibility for the awards.

Here is the list of all the past winners of the ACCA Uganda and Deloitte Chief Finance Officer

CFO  awards 2018 themed Finance in a Digital World

Samuel Mwogeza of Stanbic bank was the winner of last year’s CFO Awards.
  • CFO of the Year – Winner was Samuel Mwogeza – Stanbic Bank)
  • Public Sector – Winner was Edward Iruura – ERA)
  • Not for profit – Winner was Susan Shereni Lamunu – IDI)
  • SME Award – Winner was Cerinah Nalwoga  – Milima Technologies Ltd -The Innovation Village Bureau Technologies
  • Young CFO – Winner was Allan Kyambadde – UAP Old Mutual Group
  • Strategy Execution – Winner was Samuel Mwogeza – Stanbic Bank
  • Finance and Technology – Winner was Michael Segwaya  – Barclays Bank
  • Finance Transformation – Winner was Godfrey Centenary Bank Bank

CFO awards 2017, themed The Inaugural CFO Awards

Alvin Mbugua the CFO of Nile Breweries was the winner of the inaugural winner of the awards in 2017
  • CFO of the Year Award – Winner was Alvin Mbugua – UBL)
  • 1st Runner up for CFO of the Year Award Winner was Patrick Ayota – former CFO NSSF
  • Public Sector CFO Award – Winner was Edith Kakuba – NMS
  • Young CFO Award – Winner was Bruno Muhindi – KCB Bank
  • Strategy Execution Award – Winner was Alvin Mbugua – UBL
  • Finance Transformation Award – Winner was Samuel Mwogeza – Stanbic Bank


Also, read Uber To Scrap Off Rides Past 11PM




Author: Moses Echodu

Moses is a freelance writer for Newslibre and Programs Manager at the Craft Silicon Foundation. He loves writing about sports, politics and news around the globe and Inspiring new young people!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *